Live Events

Each week of the course we will host an optional live event that is open to the first 100 people to show up. The topics for the events are listed below.  Some topics overlap with certain badges, but other content will be new. The meeting room will open 30 minutes prior to the scheduled start time. If interest exceeds 100, we will explore the option of streaming the presentation to UStream as well. In order to participate in a live event, simply click on the “Enter Live Event Room” button and log in as a guest.

Live events run for one hour on the day of the event and start at 3:00 PM PST / 4:00 PM MST / 5:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM EST unless otherwise noted.

Enter Live Event Room

Why Explore Learning Beyond Letter Grades?

October 8th @  3:00 PM PST / 4:00 PM MST / 5:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM EST

Presenter: Dr. Bernard Bull

 

Panel Discussion: Digital Badges for Learning

October 15th @ 3:00 PM PST / 4:00 PM MST / 5:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM EST


Moderator: Dr. Bernard Bull

Discussion Panel

  • Sheryl Grant – Sheryl Grant is Director of Social Networking for the HASTAC/MacArthur Foundation Digital Media and Learning Competition and a doctoral student at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill’s School of Information and Library Science.
  • Jonathan E. Finkelstein – Jonathan Finkelstein is founder and CEO of Credly, and director of the BadgeOS project, an open source system for recognizing and rewarding achievement. As founder of LearningTimes, Jonathan has worked with mission-driven organizations to produce and launch online programs and events. He is author of Learning in Real Time (Wiley), contributing author to The Digital Museum, and co-author of a report for the US Department of Education on the potential for digital badges.
  • Sunny Lee – Open Badges Project Lead at Mozilla Foundation

Assessment as Learning

October 22 @ 3:00 PM PST / 4:00 PM MST / 5:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM EST

 

Teaching to Fish: the Power of Self Assessment

October 29 @ 3:00 PM PST / 4:00 PM MST / 5:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM EST
October 30 @ 11:00 AM PST / 10:00 PM MST / 1:00 PM CST / 2:00 PM EST

 

Digital Portfolios

November 5 @ 3:00 PM PST / 4:00 PM MST / 5:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM EST

Creating a Community of Learning, Not Earning

Alternatives to Grades, Standards, Badges, and Achievement
November 12 @  3:00 PM PST / 4:00 PM MST / 5:00 PM CST / 6:00 PM EST

 

Additional Live Events

Hosted by Learning Beyond Letter Grades Friends and Participants

Effective Grading Practices Webinar Series

View Webinar Series Site